• Home
  • News
  • Shetland wins European Community of Sport Award

Shetland wins European Community of Sport Award

November 7th 2013

Shetland will be the European Community of Sport in 2013, following a visit by a team of inspectors from the European Capitals and Cities of Sport Federation.

The four-strong team were impressed with the range and standard of facilities available to residents, and particularly by the high-quality activities and services offered by the Clickimin Leisure Complex and the other centres operated by the Shetland Recreational Trust.

Shetland is only the second ever community to receive the award, and was nominated by the current European Community of Sport, the Isle of Man.

European President, Gian Fransesco Lupattelli: “The inspection team has seen that sport, recreation and health are very much valued and promoted by the Council and the Recreational Trust to ensure a healthy vibrant community exists in Shetland. There truly is sport for all in Shetland, whether it is play, active recreation, or assisting with elite athletes through the local athletics support programme.”

Joe Irvine, chair of Shetland Recreational Trust, says he’s delighted with the award: “Shetland has a strong and evident passion for sport, and it’s great to see that recognised at an international level. The inspection team have seen at first hand the wide range of high-quality services provided here in Shetland – this is a tremendous recognition of the work being done to support sport at all levels in the community.”

Shetland Islands Council Convener Malcolm Bell: “I’m very proud of Shetland, and its commitment to sport, which is evident in the very high participation rates in the isles. Well done to all those in the community who provide - and participate in - sporting life in Shetland .”

The Award will formally be presented at a special ceremony in Brussels on 7th November.

Pictured above, from left: James Johnston (SIC Active Schools Manager), Neil Watt (SIC Sports & Leisure Executive Manager), Neville Martin (SRT Vice-Chair), John Swanson (Head Vice President ACES Europe), Robert Geddes (Clickimin Leisure Complex Manager), Gian Francesco Lupattelli (President ACES Europe), James Johnston (SRT General Manager), Councillor Cecil Smith (Chair of Social Services Committee), James Logue (Honorary President ACES UK), Councillor Gary Robinson (Political Leader), Shona Nisbet (SRT Depute General Manager), Joe Irvine (SRT Chairman), Willie Shannon (SRT Strategic Development Manager) and Blane Dodds (President ACES UK). Photo: Kevin Jones